• Tradition

    70 years of lamp innovation: “Because we can not we can not do it differently!”

70 years of lamp innovation: “Because we can not do it another way!”

vosla celebrates its 70th anniversary in 2018 – a barely imaginable time span in a highly competitive sector such as lamp production! How could that succeed? And: How can one keep a distance from international competition in times of globalization? We talked to managers for product marketing Bernd Müller and Ron Orlamünder, responsible for industrial engineering and CIP production.

The Saxon Plauen has invented itself over the course of history again and again: In the Middle Ages trading center, from the 18th century important location of the Saxon textile industry, at the latest from 1920 the center of mechanical engineering and manufacturing. Despite numerous crises and socio-political changes: To this day, the people here have remained true to their special craft and Tüftlerkunst.

This enthusiasm for innovation also shaped the company vosla right from the start. But how does one convert this enthusiasm into market success in the long term? For the production of lamps for special applications in the high-end areas of automotive, railway, aviation and medical technology, this requires, in addition to perseverance, above all a lot of creativity, flexibility and precision. Because in this industry survives only who is willing to respond to changing market requirements very flexible.

“The technologies and products are changing,” says Bernd Müller. “But what remains is the customer’s desire to be able to offer or use the most attractive product in the competition.” And Ron Orlamünder adds: “That’s exactly what drives us time and time again. Whether on the OEM market for original equipment manufacturers or the aftermarket, ie the aftermarket. Our aim is always to further expand our market access with innovative and significantly improved products. ”

Creative Development Needs Interdisciplinary Teams

vosla has always had a working atmosphere that favors the translation from initial ideas to finished products. And the development of innovative luminaires has always been spread over many shoulders. Well-trained industrial mechanics in the research department brought with them both the indispensable practical relevance and the necessary creativity to always develop market-driven solutions.

The manufacture of lamps is technologically demanding. “You can not learn it theoretically,” Orlamünder explains. “Years of experience on site in production practice are indispensable.” Creativity always means both improvements to the products and to the production process: this is the only way to achieve cost savings and at the same time guarantee the highest product quality. That is why programmers and electronics engineers have long been strengthening the vosla team.

High-quality image processing systems ensure the ultra-precise geometric measurement of all lamp modules at every single production step as well as the meticulous acquisition of the acquired data. As a result, vosla achieves an unprecedented level of quality and production.

What precision does with innovation

From 1974, the company developed the headlight bulb H4 using quartz glass. The next innovation step was their production from the end of the 70s with tempered glass. “We were the only ones in the world who designed this lamp so that a wire bridge, instead of a quartz beam, holds the electrodes together,” says Orlamünder. “Within the production process, this wire bridge was then electrically blown to prevent short circuits. The biggest advantage: Simplification of the production process and associated cost advantages, which could then be passed on to customers. The H4 should prove to be one of the company’s key products. It was manufactured until 2010.

A car that turns a blind eye

At the end of the 90s, vosla rewrote automotive history: For BMW and the E87 premium sedan, the manufacturer developed and supplied the H10 W Longlife halogen lamp as daytime running light. The H10 W was integrated into a headlamp module, which produced an absolutely characteristic ring illumination: Even when the main headlights were switched off, the viewer looked at two light rings per side. Suddenly, the vehicle seemed to be looking at you with one’s own eyes – a startling effect that helped catapult BMW sales up!

“The effect resulted from the interaction of our lamp with a bundle of optical cables, which scatter the light in a ring,” explains Müller. “We are the only company in the world to supply this lamp. It is no longer produced today for the original equipment manufacturer, but still for the aftermarket. “The H10 W also impressed with its outstanding service life of 2200 hours. It therefore fulfilled all requirements perfectly.

Not infrequently, these are problems that drive the engineers and technicians at vosla to particularly innovative developments. In a special headlamp application, the soldered ground contact proved problematic because the solder began to melt at 210 degrees. For this reason, from 2009, vosla developed the H21W HTR for the Audi Q7 – a high-temperature-resistant lamp with welded instead of soldered ground contact. Manufactured using the innovative laser welding process, the H21W HTR managed to withstand almost unthinkable temperatures of up to 300 ° C without damage.

The orange revolution

In 2008, vosla achieved another masterpiece: the automotive industry was thirsting for innovative designs around the lighting elements on vehicles. The world’s first development was the creation of the HY21W, a halogen miniature lamp for flash applications. It is one of the “other-colored” lamps, donates intense yellow-orange light and shocked the competition with its small dimensions compared to conventional lamps doubled life.

Thanks to the HY21W, car manufacturers were able to equip their vehicles with clear-glass lenses instead of the usual orange turn signal covers worldwide – for many, this was equivalent to an optical revolution.

The hard glass bulb is coated in orange on the HY21W by a dipping process. What sounds so simple was quite a headache for the developers in the experimental phase: The halogen miniature lamp produces a very high bulb temperature of up to 400 degrees Celsius. It therefore needed a novel, color-exactly defined and long-term high temperature resistant color coating. It was necessary to precisely meet the tight regulatory requirements of the Federal Motor Transport Authority and TÜV, described by the coordinates X and Y in the color triangle of red blue and green, the “CIE color space”.

vosla managed to reconcile long-term color accuracy, attractive lamp life and, last but not least, the market-driven pricing of the finished luminaire in series production. Even today Vosla distributes the HY21W successfully and worldwide. Good for vosla, but also good for large customers, who enjoy many years of good profits and decades of safe production.

Modify, diversify – and minimize costs!

Automotive lamps that change the rules

Creativity in tight markets also includes the ability to modify novel product ideas based on a thorough understanding of market needs and consumer needs. In 2013, vosla developed the HIR2, a halogen headlamp for bi-halogen systems, for the automotive industry. The special thing about it: It combines the dipped and main beam functions in one lamp. “We were not the first to do so,” says Müller, “but we put the lamp on the market in tempered glass instead of quartz glass.” The advantage: the processing temperature during lamp production is significantly lower. Due to the lower energy consumption, vosla also achieved cost advantages for its customers. “We also offer the largest portfolio and the highest variety of types in HIR2,” says Müller. “These include the types ‘standard’, ‘longlife’, ‘+30’ with increased light emission and a blue lamp.”

At the futureSAX Innovation Forum in Plauen on October 27, 2015, vosla also showed how innovative power works – as one of the few selected Saxon companies to speak on this topic. The audience was impressed. Innovation today works best in the field of tension of superior product characteristics, almost radical quality management and low prices.

Today, under the NARVA and vosla brand names, vosla offers its customers no less than 500 different special lamps and over 100 different types of automotive lamps. And how does it continue? “Of course with a lot of innovation, Orlamünder smiles. “We can not help it. We’re burning for light! ”

Interesting? Share this post with your friends!
Back to overview

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

 


DIRK STEEN

Head of Sales & Marketing

Dirk Steen and his team form the interface between customers, prospects and vosla, are responsible for key account management and lead the sales organization.

 +49 (0) 37 41-396-717

 dirk.steenvosla.com

• Tradition

70 Jahre Lampen-Innovation: „Weil wir nicht anders können!“

vosla feiert 2018 sein 70-jähriges Bestehen – in einer wettbewerbsintensiven Branche wie der Lampenproduktion eine kaum vorstellbare Zeitspanne! Wie konnte das gelingen? Und: Wie hält man in Zeiten der Globalisierung sogar den internationalen Wettbewerb auf Abstand? Wir sprachen darüber mit den Managern für Produktmarketing Bernd Müller und Ron Orlamünder, verantwortlich im Bereich Industrial Engineering und KVP Produktion.

Das sächsische Plauen hat sich im Laufe der Geschichte immer wieder neu erfunden: Im Mittelalter Handelszentrum, ab dem 18. Jahrhundert wichtiger Standort der sächsischen Textilindustrie, spätestens ab 1920 Zentrum des Maschinenbaus und verarbeitenden Gewerbes. Trotz zahlreicher Krisen und gesellschaftspolitischer Veränderungen: Bis heute sind die Menschen hier ihrer besonderen Handwerks- und Tüftlerkunst treu geblieben.

Diese Begeisterung für Innovationen prägte von Beginn an auch das Unternehmen vosla. Doch wie setzt man diese Begeisterung langfristig in Markterfolge um? Zur Produktion von Lampen für spezielle Anwendungen in den Highend-Bereichen Automotive, Railway, Flugverkehr und Medizintechnik bedarf es dazu neben besonderer Ausdauer vor allem jeder Menge Kreativität, Flexibilität und Präzision. Denn in dieser Branche überlebt nur, wer bereit ist, höchst flexibel auf sich ändernde Marktanforderungen zu reagieren.

„Die Technologien und Produkte ändern sich“, sagt Bernd Müller. „Doch was bleibt, ist der Kundenwunsch, im Wettbewerb das jeweils attraktivste Produkt anbieten oder anwenden zu können.“ Und Ron Orlamünder ergänzt: „Genau das ist ein Punkt, der uns immer wieder antreibt. Ob am OEM-Markt für Erstausrüster oder dem Aftermarket, also dem Ersatzteilmarkt. Immer geht es uns darum, mit innovativen und signifikant verbesserten Produkten unsere Marktzugänge weiter auszubauen.“

Kreative Entwicklungen brauchen fachübergreifende Teams

Schon immer herrschte bei vosla ein Betriebsklima, das die Umsetzung von ersten Ideen bis zu fertigen Produkten begünstigte. Und schon immer war die Entwicklung innovativer Leuchten auf viele Schultern verteilt. Bestens ausgebildete Industriemechaniker in der Forschungsabteilung brachten dafür sowohl den unverzichtbaren Praxisbezug als auch die nötige Kreativität mit, um stets marktgerechte Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Das Herstellen von Lampen ist technologisch anspruchsvoll. „Man kann es nicht rein theoretisch erlernen“, erklärt Orlamünder. „Langjährige Erfahrungen vor Ort in der Produktionspraxis sind dafür unverzichtbar.“ Kreativität bedeutet dabei immer sowohl Verbesserungen an den Produkten als auch am Produktionsprozess: Nur so lassen sich Kosteneinsparungen erzielen und zugleich die höchste Produktqualität garantieren. Schon seit langem verstärken deshalb Programmierer und Elektroniker das vosla-Team.

Hochwertige Bildverarbeitungssysteme sorgen bei jedem einzelnen Produktionsschritt für die ultrapräzise geometrische Vermessung sämtlicher Lampenmodule sowie die akribische Erfassung der gewonnenen Daten. Dadurch gelingt vosla ein bis dato unerreichtes Qualitäts- und Fertigungsniveau.

Was Präzision mit Innovation macht

Ab 1974 entwickelte das Unternehmen unter Verwendung von Quarzglas die Autoscheinwerferlampe H4. Als nächster Innovationsschritt erfolgte deren Produktion dann ab Ende der 70er mit Hartglas. „Wir waren weltweit die einzigen, die diese Lampe so entwickelt haben, dass eine Drahtbrücke statt eines Quarzbalkens die Elektroden darin zusammenhält“, weiß Orlamünder. „Innerhalb des Produktionsprozesses wurde diese Drahtbrücke zur Verhinderung von Kurzschlüssen dann elektrisch durchgebrannt. Der größte Vorteil: Vereinfachung des Produktionsprozesses und damit einhergehend Kostenvorteile, die dann an Kunden weitergegeben werden konnten. Die H4 sollte sich als eines der wichtigsten Produkte des Unternehmens erweisen. Sie wurde bis 2010 gefertigt.

Ein Auto entsteht, das Augen macht

Ende der 90er schrieb vosla erneut Automobilgeschichte: Für BMW und die Premiumlimousine E87 entwickelte und lieferte der Hersteller als Tagfahrlicht die Halogenminiaturlampe H10 W Longlife. Die H10 W wurde in ein Scheinwerfermodul integriert, welches damit eine absolut charakteristische Ringbeleuchtung erzeugte: Auch wenn die Hauptscheinwerfer ausgeschaltet waren, blickte der Betrachter auf zwei Lichtringe pro Seite. Plötzlich schien einen das Fahrzeug mit eigenen Augen anzuschauen – ein verblüffender Effekt, der dazu beitrug, die BMW-Verkaufszahlen nach oben zu katapultieren!

„Der Effekt resultierte aus dem Zusammenspiel unserer Lampe mit einem Bündel von Lichtleitkabeln, die das Licht ringförmig streuten“, erklärt Müller. „Wir sind bis heute weltweit das einzige Unternehmen, das diese Lampe liefert. Produziert wird sie heute nicht mehr für den Erstausstatter-, aber immer noch für den Ersatzteilmarkt.“ Die H10 W überzeugte zugleich auch mit ihrer überragenden Lebensdauer von 2200 Stunden. Sie erfüllte somit perfekt alle Anforderungen.

Nicht selten sind es Probleme, welche die Ingenieure und Techniker bei vosla zu besonders innovativen Entwicklungen antreiben. Bei einer speziellen Scheinwerferanwendung erwies sich der gelötete Bodenkontakt als problematisch, weil das Lot bei 210 Grad zu schmelzen begann. vosla entwickelte deshalb ab 2009 für den Audi Q7 die H21W HTR – eine hochtemperaturfeste Lampe mit geschweißtem statt gelötetem Bodenkontakt. Hergestellt im innovativen Laserschweißverfahren, schaffte es die H21W HTR, bis dahin fast undenkbare Temperaturen von bis zu 300 °C unbeschadet zu überstehen.

Die orange Revolution

2008 gelang vosla ein weiteres Meisterstück: Rund um die Lichtelemente an Fahrzeugen dürstete die Automobilindustrie nach innovativen Designs. Als weltweite Erstentwicklung schuf und vosla daraufhin die HY21W, eine Halogenminiaturlampe für Blinkapplikationen. Sie zählt zu den „andersfarbenen“ Leuchten, spendet intensives Licht in gelborange und schockte den Wettbewerb mit ihren geringem Abmessungen bei im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Lampen verdoppelter Lebensdauer.

Dank der HY21W konnten KFZ- Hersteller ihre Fahrzeuge plötzlich weltweit statt mit den bis dato üblichen orangefarbenen Blinkerabdeckungen mit solchen aus Klarglas ausstatten – für viele kam das einer optischen Revolution gleich.

Der Hartglaskolben wird bei der HY21W durch einen Tauchvorgang orangefarben beschichtet. Was so einfach klingt, bereitete den Entwicklern in der Versuchsphase durchaus Kopfzerbrechen: Die Halogenminiaturlampe produziert eine sehr hohe Kolbentemperatur von bis zu 400 Grad Celsius. Man benötigte deshalb eine neuartige, farblich exakt definierte und langfristig hochtemperaturresistente Farbbeschichtung. Dabei galt es, präzise die engen regulativen Vorgaben von Kraftfahrtbundesamt und TÜV zu erfüllen, beschrieben anhand der Koordinaten X und Y im Farbdreieck aus rot blau und grün, dem „CIE-Farbraum“.

vosla schaffte es, in der Serienproduktion die langfristige Farbgenauigkeit, eine attraktive Lampen-Lebensdauer und nicht zuletzt die marktgerechte Preisgestaltung der fertigen Leuchte unter einen Hut zu bekommen. Auch heute noch vertreibt Vosla die HY21W erfolgreich und weltweit. Gut für vosla, gut aber auch für Großkunden, die sich dadurch langjährig guter Gewinne und einer über Jahrzehnte sicheren Produktion erfreuen.

Modifizieren, diversifizieren – und Kosten minimieren!

Automotive-Lampen, die die Regeln ändern

Zur Kreativität in engen Märkten gehört auch die Fähigkeit, neuartige Produktideen auf der Basis genauer Kenntnisse der Marktbedürfnisse und Käuferschichten zu modifizieren. 2013 entwickelte vosla für die Automotiveindustrie die HIR2, eine Halogenscheinwerferlampe für Bi-Halogensysteme. Das Besondere daran: Sie vereint in einer Lampe die Funktionen Abblend- und Fernlicht. „Wir waren damit zwar nicht die ersten“, erinnert sich Müller, „aber wir haben die Lampe in Hartglas statt Quarzglas auf den Markt gebracht.“ Der Vorteil: Die Verarbeitungstemperatur während der Lampenproduktion ist deutlich geringer. Durch den geringeren Energieeinsatz erreichte vosla auch für seine Kunden Kostenvorteile. „Wir bieten bei der HIR2 außerdem das größte Portfolio und die höchste Typenvielfalt“, freut sich Müller. „Dazu gehören unter anderem die Typen ‚standard’, ‚longlife’, ‚+30’ mit erhöhter Lichtemission sowie eine blaue Lampe.“

Am 27. Oktober 2015 zeigte vosla auch auf dem futureSAX-Innovationsforum in Plauen, wie Innovationskraft funktioniert – als eines von wenigen ausgewählten sächsischen Unternehmen, die zu diesem Thema referieren durften. Das Publikum zeigte sich beeindruckt. Innovationskraft funktioniert heute am besten im Spannungsfeld von überragenden Produkteigenschaften, fast schon radikalem Qualitätsmanagement und günstigen Preisen.

Heute hält vosla unter den Markennamen NARVA und vosla für seine Kunden nicht weniger als 500 unterschiedliche Speziallampen und über 100 verschiedene Automotive-Lampentypen bereit. Und wie geht es weiter? „Mit viel Innovationsfreude natürlich, schmunzelt Orlamünder. „Wir können nicht anders. Wir brennen nun mal für Licht!“

Interessant? Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag mit Ihren Freunden!
zurück zur Übersicht

IHR Ansprechpartner

 


DIRK STEEN

Head of Sales & Marketing

Dirk Steen bildet mit seinem Team die Schnittstelle zwischen Kunden, Interessenten und vosla, verantwortet das Key-Account-Management und leitet die Vertriebsorganisation an. 


 +49 (0) 37 41-396-717

 dirk.steenvosla.com