• TRADITION

    Why we always process glass ourselves

Why we always process glass ourselves

It burns at vosla. Gas flames shoot horizontally at glassy pistons, which will shortly afterwards carry an ice layer. Wherever the extremes collide, where fire and ice prevail, there is glass in play. And for an eternity.

Everywhere this precision. As with the helix production, as in the construction of the lamp frame with the narrowest tolerances. Every lamp has over 20 heats of fires in the form of highly accurate measurements before it is put into circulation – in the supreme discipline – of automotive lighting.

The glass is no different. It’s much more alive than metal, it’s not that easy to tame. For example, quartz glass is so tough that it can withstand even extreme temperature fluctuations without further treatment in the processing chain itself.

For tempered glass that looks different. This is where a complicated, sensitive process comes into play, where a lot of know-how and experience is required – hard glass technology – the core competence of vosla.

Even if the glass is exposed to powerful forces of nature, tolerances are not tolerated here either.

Nevertheless, more than a tenth of a millimeter deviation from the nominal value is not tolerated here at vosla even in glass processing.

For over 70 years vosla has been processing glass here. Soft glasses for long – lasting signal lamps, quartz glass for the demanding lamp types of airfield lighting in the runways of airports worldwide.

Hard glasses for extremely versatile automotive and non-car applications, halogen lamps that have to withstand ten times the internal pressure of a car tire are the core business of vosla. 30 bars prevail inside a glass bulb of about 1.5 cubic centimeters when the halogen lamp is in operation.

A tempered glass must be tempered if you expect it such loads. Annealing refers to the defined cooling phase of hard glasses in a given time unit. For this purpose, it is exposed to a strict temperature regime, the so-called tempering curve, which according to the requirements puts it in an ideal state of tension.

Only then is the glass able to withstand the further processing stages, which are icy than ice. Hard glass blocks are cooled in the moment of filling with halogen gas, in the liquid nitrogen bath shock-like down to about -200 ° C, while through the thin exhaust tube, the filling gas is drawn into the flask. The glass is sealed. This creates the characteristic nipple on the piston tip, the so-called pump tip.

Sometimes it gets colorful

Interesting? Share this post with your friends!
Back to overview

YOUR CONTACT PERSON

 


DIRK STEEN

Head of Sales & Marketing

Dirk Steen and his team form the interface between customers, prospects and vosla, are responsible for key account management and lead the sales organization.

 +49 (0) 37 41-396-717

 dirk.steenvosla.com

• TRADITION

Warum wir Glas schon immer selbst verarbeiten

Es brennt bei vosla. Gasflammen schießen waagerecht auf gläserne Kolben, die kurz darauf eine Eisschicht tragen werden. Überall dort, wo die Extreme aufeinander stoßen, wo Feuer und Eis walten, da ist Glas im Spiel. Und das schon seit einer Ewigkeit.

Überall diese Präzision. Wie auch bei der Wendelproduktion, wie schon beim Aufbau des Lampengestells mit engsten Toleranzen. Über 20 Feuertaufen in Form höchst genauer Messungen hat eine jede Lampe hinter sich, bevor sie in den Verkehr gebracht wird – in der Königsdisziplin – der Automobilbeleuchtung.

Beim Glas ist es nicht anders. Dabei ist es viel lebendiger als Metall, es lässt sich nicht so leicht zähmen. Quarzglas beispielsweise ist so zäh, dass es ohne weitere Behandlung in der Verarbeitungskette selbst höchsten Temperaturschwankungen widersteht.

Bei Hartglas sieht das schon anders aus. Hier kommt ein komplizierter, sensibler Prozess in Gang, bei dem viel Know-how und Erfahrung gefragt istHartglastechnologie – der Kernkompetenz bei vosla.

Auch wenn das Glas mächtigen Naturgewalten ausgesetzt ist – Toleranzen werden auch hier nicht geduldet.

Dennoch, mehr als ein Zehntel Millimeter Abweichung vom Sollwert duldet man hier bei vosla auch bei der Glasverarbeitung nicht.

Seit über 70 Jahren verarbeitet man hier bei vosla Glas. Weichgläser für langlebige Signallampen, Quarzglas für die anspruchsvollen Lampentypen der Flugfeldbefeuerung in den Start – und Landebahnen der Flughäfen weltweit.

Hartgläser für extrem vielseitige Automotive und Non-car Anwendungen, Halogenlampen die dem zehnfachen Innendruck eines Autoreifens standhalten müssen sind das Kerngeschäft bei vosla. 30 Bar herrschen im Innern eines Glaskolbens von etwa 1,5 Kubikzentimetern, wenn die Halogenlampe in Betrieb ist.

Ein Hartglas muss man tempern, wenn man ihm solche Belastungen zumutet. Unter Tempern versteht man die definierte Abkühlphase von Hartgläsern in einer vorgegebenen Zeiteinheit. Dazu wird es einem strengen Temperaturregime, der sogenannten Temperkurve ausgesetzt, welches es den Anforderungen entsprechend, in einen idealen Spannungszustand versetzt.

Erst dann ist das Glas in der Lage den weiteren Bearbeitungsstufen standzuhalten, die eisiger sind als Eis. Hartglaskloben werden im Moment des Befüllens mit Halogengas, im flüssigem Stickstoffbad schockartig auf etwa -200° C heruntergekühlt, während durch das dünne Pumprohr, das Füllgas in den Kolben gezogen wird. Das Glas wird dabei zugeschmolzen. Dabei entsteht der charakteristische Nippel an der Kolbenspitze, die sogenannte Pumpspitze.

Manchmal wird es bunt

Interessant? Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag mit Ihren Freunden!
zurück zur Übersicht

IHR Ansprechpartner

 


DIRK STEEN

Head of Sales & Marketing

Dirk Steen bildet mit seinem Team die Schnittstelle zwischen Kunden, Interessenten und vosla, verantwortet das Key-Account-Management und leitet die Vertriebsorganisation an. 


 +49 (0) 37 41-396-717

 dirk.steenvosla.com